Matsyasana by Marisol
  • Marisol in Ardha Matsyendrasana

Goal & Benefit

Yoga is a science and asana (yoga posture) is the technology to come into union with your Self.

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a powerful practice of self-transformation which makes the body limber, strong, healthy and brings about mental clarity.

Because it is the oldest described form of Yoga, it is also known as Classical Yoga, also Patanjala Yoga (after Patanjali, the author of the Yoga Sutras) or Raja Yoga (Royal Yoga).

How it works

The Ashtanga Yoga asana sequences (sequences of postures) are set out to detoxify the body, align the muscular-skeletal system, purify the nervous system and principally bring favorable health and vigor to the practitioner. There are six series of asanas in Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga.

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga uses an arrangement of co-ordinating movement and breath known as vinyasa. Combined with energetic muscular “locks” called bandhas, the resulting practice is very powerful. To deepen the practice further and to bring the mind under control, the eyes focus on specific points, dristi, depending on the asana.

Process of Transformation

The process of learning the asanas challenges one mentally and therefore the practicioner begins to release old patterns of behavior and attachments. As the physical transformation takes place through asana practice, a psychological process is occuring as well.

Traditionally Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is practiced 5-6 times a week at sunrise; in this frequency it unfolds its full effect. Practice at least 3 times per week if you would like to see and feel the benefits of yoga. (More is better).

Ashtanga Yoga System

Ashtanga Yoga is the oldest known form of Yoga. It consists of eight limbs that provide a practice for your moral, mental, emotional, physical aspects of you. Ashtanga Yoga is suitable for beginners and advanced practicioners of every age.